The Four Chaps (1) (Philadelphia, PA.)


    Personnel :

    Sam Ambrosino

    Danny DeSapio

    Jerry Ross

    Frank Palerma

    Discography :

    1956 - Completely Yours / Foolish Little Butterfly (Rama 195)
    1956 - Roll Over Beethoven / Wrong Number (Rama 199)

    Biography :

    James Edward Myers (26 October 1919 Philadelphia – 10 May 2001 Bonita Springs) was an American songwriter, actor, producer, and raconteur. Myers is best known as the credited co-writer of "Rock Around the Clock" for which he used the pseudonym "Jimmy DeKnight". Myers co-wrote the song with Max C. Freedman, though doubt has been cast as to whether Myers actually participated in the writing of the song.


    In 1956, James E. Myers signed a vocal group, the Four Chaps, to a personal management contract. The Four Chaps are Sam Ambrosino, Danny DeSapio, Jerry Ross and Frank Palerma. Myers’s first move was to sign them to a term pact with Rama Records, and he supervised their first recording session in New York City .

    James Edward Myers                                                                                                     

    Their first are “Completely Yours”, backed with “Foolish Little Butterfly”. On their second records they covered Chuck Berry's "Roll Over Beethoven" contemporary with Berry's own Chess Records release. Needless to say, the songwriter won this match-up -- no surprise given the dorky "do-wop do-wop do-wop" backing chorus and the Four Neat Guys-type vocals. The 4 Chaps disappeared soon after their thrust at immortality.

    (updated by Hans-Joachim)

                Roll Over Beethoven              Completely Yours / Foolish Little Butterfly


    1 comment

    Follow this section's article RSS flux
    Follow this section's comments RSS flux